Prof. Pieter van Doorn awarded with the Alan J. Gebhart Prize

Publicatie: 06 August 2023

Professor Pieter van Doorn, neurologist from the Erasmus University Medical Center in Rotterdam has been awarded the Alan J. Gebhart Prize for Excellence in Peripheral Nerve Research, by Professor Richard Lewis at the PNS Annual Meeting 2023. He received this prize for his outstanding contribution to the field of inflammatory neuropathies and his contribution to the Peripheral Nerve Society.
The PNS states: “his work on diagnosis, prognosis, predictive models, and treatment of Guillain-Barré syndrome and other inflammatory neuropathies has been comprehensive. He has over 350 publications on a range of topics, and not just inflammatory neuropathies. He is the Immediate Past President of the PNS, was Chair of the Inflammatory Neuropathy Consortium (INC), and he leads the EAN/PNS GBS Guidelines Taskforce.”
Pieter van Doorn emphasized that this honorable recognition is largely the result of the great collaboration in the Erasmus MC GBS/CIDP- research team: “this award is for all of us!”